Basavaraj Bommai selected as the nee CM of Karnataka on July 27.

On July 27, Basavaraj S Bommai has been elected the new Chief Minister of Karnataka. He replaced BS Yediyurappa as the 20th Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Basavraj Bommai has been elected as the new Karnataka CM by the BJP legislature in the presence of central witnesses and state in-charge and outgoing Chief Minister Yediyurappa.

BJP observer for Karnataka and Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan had announced that Basavaraj S Bommai will be the next Chief Minister of Karnataka.

Bommai, Commenting on the development, said that It is a big responsibility in the given situation.

Bommai was the Home Minister, and Law, Parliamentary Affairs, and Legislation Minister of Karnataka in the Yediyurappa Cabinet, and had earlier refuted assumptions of him becoming the next CM of Karnataka.

Bommai is the son of former Karnataka CM SR Bommai.

He is a member of the Sadara Lingayat community. A close confidant of the former Karnataka CM. He joined the BJP in 2008 and rose through the party ranks steadily since then.  Bommai is an engineer by profession and is a two-time MLC and three-time MLA from Shiggaon. He has also held the post of the Leader of the BJP Legislature Party of Karnataka.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close