“Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award renamed Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award will henceforth be called Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. He said the decision was taken “respecting the sentiments of citizens across the country”. In his official Twitter, Modi wrote: “I have been getting many requests from citizens across India to name the Khel Ratna Award after Major Dhyan Chand. I thank them for their views. Respecting their sentiment, the Khel Ratna Award will hereby be called the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award! Jai Hind!”
Meanwhile, the exceptional performance of the men’s and women’s Hockey Team has captured the imagination of our entire nation. The prime minister claimed that the renewed interest towards the sport is a very positive sign for the coming times. The Khel Ratna award is the highest sporting honour in the nation. The prestigious award carries a prize money of Rs 25 lakh.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close