Gujarat: the state found Bhupendra Patel as its new Chief Minister

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Sunday evening surprisingly named Mr Bhupendra Patel as the new chief minister of Gujarat soon after the resignation of Mr Vijay Rupani on Saturday. BJP party’s core committee sat for a meeting with the presence of central observer Mr Narendra Singh Tomar and Mr. Prahlad Joshi on 12th September, 2021 at 03:24Pm and the meeting concluded naming Mr. Patel as the new Chief Minister. Thereby, it has been also decided that the new CM will take the oath on Monday (13th September, 2021).

Mr. Bhupendra Patel aged fifty nine stepped in the Indian political arena by contesting the 2017 assembly election and became the first time MLA from the Ghatlodiya assembly seat. He has also been the ex-chairman of Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority (AUDA) also got scope to lead Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC). He also holds a diploma in the civil engineering from the Government polytechnic, Ahmedabad.

The decision to name Bhupendra Patel as the successor of Vijay Rupani have come to the mass as a surprise because several names of many veteran politicians were revolving around in the news platforms and in the social media handles and Mr. Patel was not their among the front-runners. However, BJP party chose to move forward with the novice keeping an eye on the development of the state.

There were also many speculations on C.R. Patil, the Gujarat State BJP Chief, he was believed to be one of the contenders for the seat of Chief Minister. However, he quashed all the speculations on Saturday whereby, he said “Vijay Rupani has resigned from his post today. Naturally, there are a lot of names in the media for the new Chief Minister, including my name. I want to make it clear that I am not in any such race. Together with the new chief minister appointed by the party and Vijay Rupani, we will achieve our target of winning 182 out of 182 seats in the next assembly elections and work to strengthen the party”.

This year Vijay Rupani was the fourth chief minister to have resigned from the position and such other were Trivendra Singh Rawat, Tirath Singh Rawat from Uttarakhand and B.S. Yediyurappa from Karnataka.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close