Varun Gandhi, who is an BJP MP from Pilibhit, has been dropped as a member of ruling party’s National Executive Committee, in the light of his statements condemning the death of the farmers in Lakhmipur violence. Alongside him, his mother and former Union Minister Maneka Gandhi, Birendra Singh, SS Ahluwalia and also Rajya Sabha MP Subramanian Swamy have been removed from the 80-member committee.

The announcement was made by BJP National President JP Nadda as he announced the new committee. Notably, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Amit Shah are also members and BJP stalwarts like LK Advani and MM Joshi also form a part of the committee.

Among new inclusions are Anurag Thakur, Meenakshi Lekhi, Ashwani Vaishnaw and S. Jaishankar. The removed members are the ones who publicly made remarks against the party. While Swamy had been critical of the government’s economic policy, Varun Gandhi and Chaudhary Birendra Singh had criticized the ruling party’s handling of the farmers’ agitation.

The BJP has not given much significance to the exclusion in the public view and understandably so, as this step is yet another one testifying to the party’s intolerance, incidents of which are constantly in news lately. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close